Who we are

The Governing Body oversees the strategic direction of the school and is made up as follows:

  • Phil Cairns (Co-opted governor)
  • Jo Kapourta (Staff governor)
  • Julia Kirkland (Vice Chair/Parent governor)
  • Ciara Lawlor (Staff governor)
  • Walter Lian (Parent governor)
  • Joanne Massey-Shand (Co-opted governor)
  • Ian McGraw (Community governor)
  • James Newman (Ex-officio)
  • Kieran Persand (Co-opted)
  • Judy Quaife (Chair/Co-opted governor)
  • Philip Watson (Parent governor)
  • Ann Wood (Co-opted governor)
  • Karen Thomas (Co-opted governor)

The register of governors' interests can be downloaded here.

The register of governors' attendance at governing body meetings can be downloaded here.

Governors play an important role in the life of the school. They take a long-term strategic view of the way in which the school is developing. Their main function is to ensure that the school improves so that the highest standards possible are achieved in all aspects of school life. In many ways, a governing body is like a board of directors of a company: they make decisions about standards, policies, funding and recruitment of senior staff. The headteacher and the staff are responsible for the day-to-day running of the school. They work hard to implement the School Improvement Plan. It is the responsibility of the governors to challenge and support the school in its ways of achieving the best for students.

Governors' duties include:

  • promoting high standards
  • setting targets for pupil achievement
  • taking general responsibility for the conduct of the school
  • managing the school's budget
  • making sure that the curriculum is balanced and broadly based, in particular that the National Curriculum and religious education are taught, and reporting on pupils' achievement in National Curriculum assessments and examination results
  • participating in the appointment of senior staff and regulating staff conduct and discipline

If you would like any further information about the governing body please contact Judy Quaife at the school or via email: governors@eehs.surrey.sch.uk.

We now have three sub-committees: Finance, Personnel, and Learning and Progress.

Membership of these is as follows:

Finance: Phil Cairns, Julia Kirkland, Walter Lian (Chair), James Newman, Judy Quaife, Sonia Talsi

Personnel & Safeguarding: Joanne Massey Shand (Chair), Ian McGraw, Kieran Persand, Judy Quaife, Phil Watson

Learning and Progression: Karen Davies, Jo Kapourta, Julia Kirkland (Chair), Ciara Lawlor, Ann Wood

Designated Governors:

  • Julia Kirkland - School Journeys & Visits
  • Phil Watson - Health & Safety
  • Phil Cairns & Ann Wood - Inclusion & Special Educational Needs (SEN)
  • Ian McGraw - Safeguarding