Routes through the Sixth Form

At EEHS we aim to help you to build on your achievements from Year 11. There are several ways that you can continue your studies and one of these ways will be the right one for you. There are both traditional academic courses and vocational courses on offer.




5   GCSE       grade    A*   -   Cs     gained

through a minimum of 4 separate subjects

3 or 4 BTEC Level 3 courses
(resit English or maths

3 BTEC Level 3

Minimum of 5 A* - Cs at GCSE with a grade C in both English and Maths and a B grade in any subject you wish to study at AS level

4 AS levels

3 A Levels


A-Levels - 2 Years

Many students who attain at least 5 A*-C grades at GCSE choose to study A Levels. In the first year of sixth form they study 3 or 4 Advanced Subsidiary (AS) levels and in the second year of study they continue with 3 of the subjects to attain a full A Level in each subject.

A Levels are essential for entry to many universities and are also a minimum starting point for many professions. They are an academically demanding level of study giving you the opportunity to study a few subjects in a lot of depth.

BTEC Level 3 Subsidiary Diplomas – 2 years

These courses are equivalent to an A level at the end of 2 years. They are vocational in nature with no formal examination at the end. They carry a large coursework element in which students can obtain a Pass, Merit or Distinction depending on the level of work.

Many universities recognise this qualification and students who successfully complete BTEC courses will gain entry to a large number of universities.

* Students generally drop one BTEC at the end of year 12; they will gain a BTEC Level 3 Certificate in this subject, the equivalent of an AS Level.

GCSE Retakes

It is now compulsory for students to achieve a grade C or above in English and Maths. Therefore, any student who does not achieve this in Year 11 will need to resit these subjects in Year 12.